New Illinois Laws for Obtaining a Driver’s License

Illinois has three new laws that apply to new drivers. Two take effect January 1, 2014:
1. Judges will no longer be permitted to sentence a person to “supervision” if they cause a fatal collision and do not have a clean driving record. Supervision allows the driver to pay a fine and sometimes attend driving school to avoid having a violation listed on their record.

2. Anybody ages 18-21 who did not take driver’s education in high school must complete a 6 hour driver training course before the state will issue a driver’s license.

In addition, the state has immediately put into effect a rule that it will deny driver’s licenses to anybody 18 years old or younger who have outstanding traffic citations.

Share
Posted in Home Page, Illinois | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>